Welcome to the MIDI Sprout forum

Author Topic: Arduino Uno Set up questions  (Read 4149 times)

Offline JamesNutter

• View Profile
Arduino Uno Set up questions
« on: December 21, 2016, 07:15:07 PM »
Hi Sam,

So I am brand new to doing any sort of electronics work, but the midisprout seemed like a perfect starter project.  I sourced all of the parts, except I got an uno instead of the atmega chip so I could easily upload the code myself.  I found a schematic that helped me figure out which connections to make between the breadboard and the arduino board (different style of UNO with a smaller, fixed chip). And went through your tutorials twice to be sure I had everything connected right.  The galvanometer circuit lights up the LED, but after uploading the code and testing the electrodes the other leds don't turn on (though the galvanometer LED will flicker off when touching the electrodes).   I realized that the uno has an oscillator built in so I didn't use that on the breadboard.  And rather than the two power connections, I just made one to the 5v pin on the arduino board.   So my question is is there anything that I may have missed?

Thank You!

Offline sam

• Sam
  • Understand How Your Tools Work!
    • View Profile
    • Electricity for Progress
Re: Arduino Uno Set up questions
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2016, 09:25:07 PM »
Hello James, yes you are able to connect the 555 timer (galvanometer) to an Arduino Uno directly by programing the Uno with the MIDI Sprout code and connecting the LEDs, galvanometer, and potentiometer to the Arduino.

This is a wiring diagram I drew up in fritzing:

• The 555 timer Output (Pin 3) connects to the Arduino Pin 2 (INT0)
  • MIDI Output connects to Arduino TX 1 Pin
  • The LEDs each connect to the PWM digital output pins ~3,5,6,9,10
  • A potentiometer (setup as a voltage divider) connects to Analog 0
  • 5v power from the Arduino and Ground connect to both sides of the Breadboard