Welcome to the MIDI Sprout forum

Author Topic: Sprout kit version: how to upload a new program ?  (Read 1435 times)

Offline pelgrim

• View Profile
Sprout kit version: how to upload a new program ?
« on: June 13, 2016, 02:33:31 AM »
How can I upload an adapted program to the sprout ?
I have a kit, so there is not the obvious usb connection like on other boards to connect to the pc.

I have no experience with these boards, I only have a tinyGlo+ (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/mrjohnk/tinyglo-0)
that I got working with the arduino IDE, closely following instructions.

When I got instructions, first thing I want to do is putting a power safe mode in there that disables the LED light show.

Offline sam

• Sam
  • Understand How Your Tools Work!
    • View Profile
    • Electricity for Progress
Re: Sprout kit version: how to upload a new program ?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 11:35:56 AM »
I have put two posts under the 'Code' topic which discuss the code and flashing to the ATMEGA chip.

The easiest way to 'reprogram' your sprout would be to connect a programmer like a USBTiny ISP to the MISO, MOSI, etc pins of the ATMEGA Chip and reprogram right on the breadboard.
  you can also use an Arduino as ISP to program the chip.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2016, 11:38:31 AM by sam »

Offline pelgrim

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2016, 05:48:42 AM »
was looking into this post again.

I have my chip now on a pcb, and although it's in a socket, I feel nothing for it to put it in and out all the time for reprogramming.

Is there no other way to reprogram the chip then taking it out of the socket ?

I also don't have an arduino, nor do I need one.

Offline sam

• Sam
  • Understand How Your Tools Work!
    • View Profile
    • Electricity for Progress
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2016, 12:32:20 PM »
Yes included on the board is an ICSP header which I used to program the chips 'in circuit'.  This appears as a grouping of six holes at the corner of the circuit board.