Welcome to the MIDI Sprout forum

Author Topic: MIDI to USB converter (and some other usb related questions)  (Read 2120 times)

Offline pelgrim

• View Profile
I have zero experience with musical equipment, so I feel not ashamed to ask stupid questions :)

I have no midi instruments and want to connect the sprout directly to my pc.
Is this what I need to do this ?
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Adapter-USB-to-Midi-In-Out/dp/B000XRI3CC

Are there any limits to the length of MIDI cable (or USB cable) I can use to connect my pc with a plant ?

And will the mide sprout tools be able to recognize the usb port where the midi signal comes from ?

Offline sam

• Sam
  • Understand How Your Tools Work!
    • View Profile
    • Electricity for Progress
Re: MIDI to USB converter (and some other usb related questions)
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2016, 12:09:31 PM »
Well hello pelgrim!

To begin with, the MIDI Sprout Tools program is in no way necessary for using the MIDI Sprout.  The Tools is a 'novelty' application which I threw together in PureData (pdExtended), and the Tools make no sound it only modifies the MIDI data.  It can be useful, but there is a learning curve to just setting up PD-extended - that's why the self contained osX patch was easier for some folks.

The MIDI - USB interface you linked from Amazon is (sorry to say it) crap, hence the price.  While the cheap MIDI interfaces 'should' work, their non-compliant wiring can and will impact the sensitivity and 'isolation' which makes the MIDI Sprout work well.  These lower cost units tend to result in ground connection issues.

As a portable MIDI-USB connector I use this MOTU